Decade Award: Best Directorial Body of Work

List of Winners
Muriels HOF
Top 10 Lists
Rules and Regulations


1.  Joel and Ethan Coen (Joel credited alone- O Brother, Where Art Thou?, The Man Who Wasn’t There, Intolerable Cruelty; Joel and Ethan co-credited- The Ladykillers, No Country for Old Men, Burn After Reading, A Serious Man plus segments of the anthology films To Each His Own Cinema and Paris, Je T'Aime) [114 points / 18 votes]


2.  Christopher Nolan (Memento, Insomnia, Batman Begins, The Prestige, The Dark Knight) [74/10]

3.  Steven Soderbergh (Erin Brockovich, Traffic, Ocean’s 11, Full Frontal, Solaris, Ocean’s Twelve, Bubble, The Good German, Ocean’s Thirteen, Che, The Girlfriend Experience, The Informant!, plus the HBO series K Street and a segment of the anthology film Eros) [60/10]

4.  Paul Thomas Anderson (Punch-Drunk Love, There Will Be Blood) [45/7]

5.  Lars von Trier (Dancer in the Dark, Dogville, Manderlay, The Boss of It All, Antichrist, plus co-credited with Jørgen Leth for The Five Obstructions and a segment of the anthology film To Each His Own Cinema) [44/8]

6.  Quentin Tarantino [39/6]

7.  Steven Spielberg [37/6]

8.  Wes Anderson [34/6]

9.  David Cronenberg [27/5]

10.  David Lynch [27/4]

11.  Alfonso Cuaron [23/4]

12 (tie).  Michael Haneke [22/4]

Werner Herzog [22/4]

14.  Guy Maddin [20/4]

15 (tie).  Richard Linklater [19/3]

Gus Van Sant [19/3]

17.  Wong Kar-wai [17/3]

18.  Jia Zhang-ke [16/2]

19.  Michael Mann [14/3]

20 (tie).  Paul Greengrass [14/2]

Don Hertzfeldt [14/2]

Hayao Miyazaki [14/2]

23 (tie).  Clint Eastwood [13/2]

Peter Jackson [13/2]

Tsai Ming-liang [13/2]

26 (tie).  Takashi Miike [11/2]

Apichatpong Weerasethakul [11/2]

28.  Arnaud Desplechin [10/2]

29.  Ang Lee [9/2]

The following directors received one vote apiece:


Robert Altman

Judd Apatow

Darren Aronofsky

Olivier Assayas

Ramin Bahrani

James Benning

Brad Bird

Bong Joon-ho

Danny Boyle

Pedro Costa

Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne

Guillermo Del Toro

Claire Denis

Michel Gondry

David Gordon Green

Hong Sang-soo

Hou Hsiao-hsien

Ron Howard

Ken Jacobs

Charlie Kaufman

Richard Kelly

Kim Ki-duk

Harmony Korine

Kiyoshi Kurosawa

Mike Leigh

Michael Moore

Alexander Payne

Jacques Rivette

Martin Scorsese

Charles Stone III

Julie Taymor

Johnnie To

Michael Winterbottom

Terry Zwigoff